Angular 2.0.0-rc5 is out! With lots of fixes and new features, one of the biggest changes has been the inclusion of the @NgModule decorator, and all that it implies.

Modules are a nice mechanism to create libraries that you can reuse in multiple applications. These libraries can contain components, pipes, directives, services or any other Angular 2 element. The concept remembers me the old Angular 1.x modules. Inside a module, you can define a list of elements that will be injectable inside other modules, without having to specify providers nor directives inside a Component. This is because modules expose these elements to our application’s root injector, so the effect is the same as provide declaration in rc4 and earlier versions.

And I have made a little app to test them. You can play with it here. I’ve extended the base Angular 2 plunker to create a new service, called SimpleService. Instead of being on app directory, it’s located on the simpleservice directory:

Then I’ve created a Module called SimpleServiceModule. Its only responsibility is to make avalable the SimpleService to other modules:

I want to inject the SimpleService in my AppComponent. For that, instead of using the providers property in my ComponentMetadata object, I will import it into my AppModule:

Look! There’s also a BrowserModule import! Well, some of Angular 2 components have been already refactored into components, like the BrowserModule or the FormsModule.

Now I can inject the SimpleService into my AppComponent with no problems:

Despite it’s a very simple example, with this introduction you can see how you can create modules and use them in other modules.

Hope this article has been useful to you.

